Navigation
This Site
  • current
  • archives
  • first
  • cast
  • about
  • notify
  • categories
  • design
  • host


  • Other Sites
  • p-o-y
  • links
  • D-land! Yay!
  • The Hunger Site
  • Funnies
  • Registered!


  • Contact
  • E-mail Me
  • Leave me a note
  • My profile


  • All About John Jacob Jingleheimer Schmidt

    Tuesday, Sept. 07, 2004 ~ 11:39 a.m.


    previous ~ ~ ~ next

    I started this post... oh, probably 3 months ago and then, this fellow kept coming over almost every night (yes, for the entire 3 months, you'll read all about it below, ad nauseum, no doubt), and, for no apparent reason, I decided to call what I'd started John Jacob Jingleheimer Schmidt. I don't know. These things just happen. And ever since, I've had the song stuck in my head off and on.

    John Jacob Jingleheimer Schmidt,
    His name is my name too.
    Whenever we go out,
    The people always shout,
    There goes John Jacob Jingleheimer Schmidt.
    La la la la la la la la.
    John Jacob... (repeat endlessly)


    I have no idea when or where I learned this song. However, those children who read this blog, if you ever feel the urge to discourage your parents from taking you on long car trips? This song will do the trick for ya. Trust me. It's even better if you have sibilings who will a) join in or b) do rounds with you.

    Child #1: John Jacob Jingleheimer Schmidt...
    Child #2: John Jacob Jingleheimer Schmidt (while Child #1 continues on from where s/he started with "His name is my name too")

    You'll be back home to your computer games and radio before you can blink. "Row, Row, Row Your Boat" also works reasonably well, but beware those with folk-singing parents. They're as likely to join in on rounds with "Row" as turn the car around and take you back home.

    *blinks and asks self* "Self, where did that come from?"
    *sings*"John Jacob Jingleheimer Schimidt..."
    "Self? Self! Where did you pick that up?"
    *sings*"His name is my name too..."
    "Self! Enough already! Knock it off!!!! Gah!"
    *sings*"Whenever we go out, the people always shout..."
    "Will you puh-lease knock it off?"
    *sings*"There goes John Jacob Jingleheimer Schmidt!"
    *sticks fingers in ears and inadvertantly sings in time with Self* La la la la la la la la.

    Thank you, we will now return to our previously scheduled programming.

    ::�::�::�::�::�::�::�::�::�::


    Ok, so, we have this... ex-neighbor, for lack of a better description, who hangs out around us a lot. Because there is the vague possibility of someone seeing this who also knows the ex-neighbor... oh, forget it. If they're reading any of this, they're going to know who he is. There's no reason for me to change his name. So John used to live right next door to Anthony. (This was prior to us getting married, so Anthony and I were still two doors apart in the same apartment complex at this point. Oh, quit your snickering.) And there is so, so, so much history on John that... it's impossible to put it all here. The basic back story is that John wanted to become Holly and was going to go through a sex change operation. He decided at the last minute that he didn't actually want to do that, but had already been taking hormones and had ?? (I thought it was electrolysis, but when I Googled it, I came up with this instead, so obviously, that's not right) done to make sure his beard wouldn't ever grow again. I mention this because it became a big deal for him...

    You know what? I don't want to rant about John on my day off. I have much more interesting things to post about than this, and the good news is that he's gone for a month. So what this was going to be was a rant about his inappropriate behavior (like hitting on my husband and saying he wishes he was Anthony's wife while sitting in front of me) but I think I'm going to enjoy my John-less time for now, and I'll come back and modify this entry after he's returned and starts pissing me off again. There are lots and lots and lots of things that have happened that I want to comment on, but, quite frankly, it's not worth it right now. I'm going to go onto something else now. Thanks. Come back later. I'll let you know when dinner's done.

    How many days until finals?
    What was one good thing that happened today?
    Miscellaney:

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Tell me what you think.

    Ilsa :: Ilsa's Site
    �::Ilsa's Comment(s)�::
    Yes, let me know when dinner is done. :) And check your post on the browser. I missed you today!
    [2004-09-07 22:28:13]

    Tessa :: Tessa's Site
    �::Tessa's Comment(s)�::
    I did go back and check it. Forgot to close a bold tag. :) Thanks! :) Dinner is likely to be done in another... week and a half. Theoretically, he comes back from his trip in about a week. :) I give it an extra couple days before he starts pissing me off again... :)
    [2004-09-19 03:36:48]



    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Disgruntled ~ ~ ~ Because it seemed like the logical thing to do at the time.

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Most recent:
    The REAL surprise party - Monday, Jul. 11, 2005
    Still not here - Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005
    Moved - Thursday, Jun. 30, 2005
    I survived - Thursday, Jun. 23, 2005
    Go see her. Now. - Thursday, Jun. 02, 2005
    � Tessa Logan, 2003-2005 all writing and pictures unless otherwise noted--in other words, don't steal! Having said that, if you know who took the marvelous picture at the top of this page, please tell me!