Navigation
This Site
  • current
  • archives
  • first
  • cast
  • about
  • notify
  • categories
  • design
  • host


  • Other Sites
  • p-o-y
  • links
  • D-land! Yay!
  • The Hunger Site
  • Funnies
  • Registered!


  • Contact
  • E-mail Me
  • Leave me a note
  • My profile


  • Bad Dreams and Good Endings

    Monday, Jun. 07, 2004 ~ 10:35 p.m.


    previous ~ ~ ~ next

    So, I got to go see the kitties tonight. They got spayed today so in order to see them, I had to promise to be very calm and very quiet... Not that it was terribly difficult, mind you. They didn't feel much like playing, so it's not exactly like I'd want to rough them up.

    I had a dream earlier in the week that Reilly died in the operation to get her fixed, and the most horrible part was that my only response was, "Oh well. I guess we'll take Maddie home instead." (Maddie is another litter-mate.) So I've had periodic freak-outs this week as Gwynnie inched closer and closer to the mandatory 2 pounds (at which, incidentally, she just barely squeaked under the wire as of this morning!) and I worried that Reilly for some unknown reason wouldn't be ok. So of course I pestered the woman who's fostering them as soon as decently possible this afternoon to make sure they were ok. She said they were fine, and that I could come over this evening.

    So we went on over, and there was this heart-stopping moment when I walked in and saw Reilly lying bonelessly at the front of the cage, so, so, so still. I couldn't see her breathing at all. I gingerly opened the door (fending off other inquisitive kittens, which is why the cage was closed in the first place) and reached out to pet her. I nearly had a heart attack when she moved just before I actually touched her... because at that point, I was convinced she was dead. She wasn't, of course, just very, very zonked out from the anesthesia. Gwynnie was doing much better. She wasn't up and walking around like (ironically enough) Maddie who seemed to have come through it more quickly than the rest, but she was more alert. She started purring as soon as I touched her. That's a sound to make a mommy's heart feel all warm and fuzzy! So we cuddled them (according to Anthony) for 45 minutes or so (I'm not sure, it certainly didn't seem that long!) and then had to go. Because, really, staying over at someone else's house for hours on end is not exactly proper etiquette.

    As we were leaving, I couldn't help but laugh at the thought that those 45 minutes are probably the longest Gwynnie has ever held still without being asleep. She's such a feisty one! :) Oh, I just can't wait. Less than 48 hours now and my babies will be home with me. Oooh! :)

    How many days until finals?
    What was one good thing that happened today?
    Miscellaney:

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Tell me what you think.

    Solemne :: Solemne's Site
    �::Solemne's Comment(s)�::
    Kittens are so wonderful and cuddly!
    [2004-06-08 13:14:37]

    Rick :: Rick's Site
    �::Rick's Comment(s)�::
    I am not a big fan of kittens or cats but I wish you the best of luck with them.
    [2004-06-08 15:57:29]



    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Good News and the Weekend ~ ~ ~ Real Life Intrudes

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Most recent:
    The REAL surprise party - Monday, Jul. 11, 2005
    Still not here - Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005
    Moved - Thursday, Jun. 30, 2005
    I survived - Thursday, Jun. 23, 2005
    Go see her. Now. - Thursday, Jun. 02, 2005
    � Tessa Logan, 2003-2005 all writing and pictures unless otherwise noted--in other words, don't steal! Having said that, if you know who took the marvelous picture at the top of this page, please tell me!