Navigation
This Site
  • current
  • archives
  • first
  • cast
  • about
  • notify
  • categories
  • design
  • host


  • Other Sites
  • p-o-y
  • links
  • D-land! Yay!
  • The Hunger Site
  • Funnies
  • Registered!


  • Contact
  • E-mail Me
  • Leave me a note
  • My profile


  • Keeps disappearing for no apparent reason (pun not intended)

    Wednesday, Jun. 30, 2004 ~ 10:09 p.m.


    previous ~ ~ ~ next

    Fair warning. This is likely to be a series of non sequiturs.




    I've decided that I don't trust anyone my cats don't like. Cable guy was here today... he creeped me out, somewhat. Showed up without any appointment. (Ok, seriously! What cable guy shows up without an appointment?!?!) He said that he'd done the fussing down with the box at some other part of the apartment complex that controls several people's boxes and was just coming to check out whether or not I was getting good reception. I let him in because the guy who did have the appointment 2 days ago told me that someone would be working on the next level of the problem in about 2 days. I had a friend on the phone for the first part of him being there, but then later she had to go get back to work. So... I was just very, very vigilant. I didn't see anything that wasn't appropriate and he made polite conversation but... well, you know, it's just unnerving to have some strange guy in the house without any appointments and no real warning. I had the urge to go double check everything he touched after he left (and I actually did, to some extent. So I'm paranoid; sue me!) just to make sure he hadn't... what? I don't know. Left a bomb, or a video camera or... I don't know, just something! Oh, and he made this comment about how there's a room down where he was fussing previously so that he can see if the various channels are coming in appropriately, mentioned that it was dark, with no windows so they didn't get glare. Later, when a particular set of channels were still not coming in properly, he asked if I wanted to go down to that (dark, windowless, and obviously lockable) room so he could prove that it was coming in right. I told him that was ok, I believed him that it was coming in just fine. What the hell?!?! Has anyone else ever been asked anything like that?!?! Because that was seriously, seriously bizarre. And disturbing. Of course, the thing that freaked me out the most was that the kittens were afraid of him. You have to understand that the kittens, while somewhat skittish around new people, like getting pet and being noticed and fussed over, so when they ran away from this guy, I didn't exactly take that as a good sign. I actually went and locked the door after he'd left. Very, very creepy... Maybe I was just being paranoid because of Kyra's bad experience, but... better safe than sorry.




    Did you know (I'm sure lots of you did...) that cleaning (or unpacking) is much more fun if you add alcohol? I don't think I was terribly productive, actually, but at least it wasn't nearly as boring! :) I got all the boxes moved into the house from the storage area. I really wish I could find more of the wire/metal frames to put together to make shelving units. I've looked online but I must not be using the right terminology... They were all the rage not too long ago. Anyway, I need more shelves. And I've agreed to be forbidden to buy furniture until Anthony comes back home (I have the tendency to be, shall we say, a little less than circumspect in terms of space and money management when I'm in the mood to nest) so the only available option is the little modular wire frame ones because they break down and store easily if I go overboard. Not to mention that they're always useful, so... yeah. I haven't had a drink in quite a while. Guess it's getting to me more than I thought.




    I thought I had another non sequitur to add here, but... guess I don't. That's all for tonight.

    How many days until finals?
    What was one good thing that happened today?
    Miscellaney:

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Tell me what you think.

    Ilsa :: Ilsa's Site
    �::Ilsa's Comment(s)�::
    That guy was totally creepy, first of all, and I'm glad everything worked out. Stack and Rack Shelving.
    [2004-07-01 15:50:06]



    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Not so bad after all... ~ ~ ~ Yes, yes, I'll be signing autographs any day now.

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Most recent:
    The REAL surprise party - Monday, Jul. 11, 2005
    Still not here - Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005
    Moved - Thursday, Jun. 30, 2005
    I survived - Thursday, Jun. 23, 2005
    Go see her. Now. - Thursday, Jun. 02, 2005
    � Tessa Logan, 2003-2005 all writing and pictures unless otherwise noted--in other words, don't steal! Having said that, if you know who took the marvelous picture at the top of this page, please tell me!