Navigation
This Site
  • current
  • archives
  • first
  • cast
  • about
  • notify
  • categories
  • design
  • host


  • Other Sites
  • p-o-y
  • links
  • D-land! Yay!
  • The Hunger Site
  • Funnies
  • Registered!


  • Contact
  • E-mail Me
  • Leave me a note
  • My profile


  • Loving You

    Saturday, Apr. 24, 2004 ~ 12:19 p.m.


    previous ~ ~ ~ next



    Hey Baby,

    I was thinking, earlier today, about how I started falling in love with you right about the same time I was coming to know God. I couldn't help but wonder why He arranged it that way. I mean, He could have set it up in a much easier fashion... you know, one at a time, which would have been infinitely easier to cope with. Instead, I found myself falling in love with you and God at the same time--which was, to say the least, a wee bit confusing. The more I thought about it today, though, the more I realized that, without falling in love with you, I couldn't possibly have loved God. Not to mention that without God loving me, I couldn't have known how to love you.

    That sounds like such a strange thing to say, but it's so very true. I mean... what experience did I have with love up to that point? The only things I knew were:
  • You only get love if you perform and behave properly.
  • The people who love you want something from you.
  • Love can easily be rescinded... or at the very least not shown.
  • There is no such thing as "true love".
  • You can't count on love or on other people loving you for long.
  • The people who love you are the most likely to hurt you and expose you to others.
  • It's not safe to show other people, not anyone, that you love someone because, guaranteed, someone will use it against you.
  • Loving friends is marginally safer than loving family because at least you can choose friends. And then it's your own fault when they hurt you.
  • Men are not to be trusted because they won't stand up for you or they'll betray you or they'll hurt you (or any combination of the above).


  • That's why I got so angry, fought so hard when I felt myself falling in love with you. I knew it wasn't safe. I was positive that you would just hurt me... not to mention that, at that point, I had no intention of staying in California. And that, quite obviously, I wasn't a Christian so you had no intention of allowing us to start a relationship beyond being friends. So even if, by some miracle, none of the things on the list above happened or applied to you, I would still be hurt because I was going to leave. I almost wonder if God didn't use my distraction with you to kind of creep in unnoticed where I would have fought Him so much harder otherwise. But, without starting to feel safe in loving you, because you didn't do those things (although that terrified me on a completely different level, waiting for the shoe to drop), I couldn't have comprehended that God could love me without any conditions, without strings attached... and that He wouldn't abandon me. Because, when it comes right down to it, that's the piece that I really couldn't grasp.

    I just wanted to thank you, for being so patient with me, for loving me, for being so persistent in pointing me toward God. I know I get cranky and irritated and defensive sometimes (often) when you call me on the ways I'm not living up to what God has planned. Please don't stop doing that because you're right... or at least, if you're not, I ought to be able to explain it! I love you, and I treasure your closeness to God and your willingness to see Him in all things. Sometimes (often) I don't tell you, don't show you how very much I appreciate you. I just wanted to make sure you know.

    Love,
    Me.

    How many days until finals?
    What was one good thing that happened today?
    Miscellaney:

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Tell me what you think.



    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Surveyed... actually, I think it's the first I've filled out! ~ ~ ~ Non Sequitur

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Most recent:
    The REAL surprise party - Monday, Jul. 11, 2005
    Still not here - Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005
    Moved - Thursday, Jun. 30, 2005
    I survived - Thursday, Jun. 23, 2005
    Go see her. Now. - Thursday, Jun. 02, 2005
    � Tessa Logan, 2003-2005 all writing and pictures unless otherwise noted--in other words, don't steal! Having said that, if you know who took the marvelous picture at the top of this page, please tell me!