Navigation
This Site
  • current
  • archives
  • first
  • cast
  • about
  • notify
  • categories
  • design
  • host


  • Other Sites
  • p-o-y
  • links
  • D-land! Yay!
  • The Hunger Site
  • Funnies
  • Registered!


  • Contact
  • E-mail Me
  • Leave me a note
  • My profile


  • Non Sequitur

    Saturday, Apr. 24, 2004 ~ 11:06 a.m.


    previous ~ ~ ~ next

    There is a difference between living in grace and living by grace...

    As an example... If I know that, when this boat sinks, my life-jacket will keep me safe (not that I particularly care for comparing God to a life-jacket, mind you), I'm going to be moving around on the boat a lot more confidently, even though I know, eventually, it will sink.

    On the other hand, if I go around, throwing myself into the water time and again, trusting that the life-jacket will bail me out... (Yes, I am, perhaps a little too find of elipses.) Well, then there are a couple of consequences. One is that I abuse a gift, a very precious gift, that I've been given by using it for purposes never intended. The other is that abusing that gift doesn't bring me any nearer to the person who gave it.

    That, in case it was too absurdly oblique to make any sense, was a reference to God's grace and Jesus' sacrifice for us on the cross. Last night we were talking about how being forgiven our sins didn't give us the right to go around continuing to sin, that it's not business as usual, but, oh, cool, there's no penalty. Dude, thanks J-man. And I see far too many people going around with that mentality. One of the things I love about my church (Whoa! Massive changes to the website. It looks marvelous!) is that I've found the fewest number of Christians with that attitude here. Anyway, that's all for now...

    (Actually, this isn't really a non sequitur, but I don't have time just yet to finish with the rest of what I want to write just now. And without that, it seems totally unconnected to anything.)

    How many days until finals?
    What was one good thing that happened today?
    Miscellaney:

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Tell me what you think.



    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Loving You ~ ~ ~ Bad week

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Most recent:
    The REAL surprise party - Monday, Jul. 11, 2005
    Still not here - Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005
    Moved - Thursday, Jun. 30, 2005
    I survived - Thursday, Jun. 23, 2005
    Go see her. Now. - Thursday, Jun. 02, 2005
    � Tessa Logan, 2003-2005 all writing and pictures unless otherwise noted--in other words, don't steal! Having said that, if you know who took the marvelous picture at the top of this page, please tell me!