Navigation
This Site
  • current
  • archives
  • first
  • cast
  • about
  • notify
  • categories
  • design
  • host


  • Other Sites
  • p-o-y
  • links
  • D-land! Yay!
  • The Hunger Site
  • Funnies
  • Registered!


  • Contact
  • E-mail Me
  • Leave me a note
  • My profile


  • The Lowdown on the School Situation

    Tuesday, Apr. 13, 2004 ~ 3:12 p.m.


    previous ~ ~ ~ next

    Oh, I am so productive today! I was going to write yesterday (well, whine, really) about the weekend. Or Easter, rather, since Saturday was quite pleasant. And I probably will because I am still ticked off at John (introductions to be completed later) and I don't usually stay mad for 2 days running. Instead, though, I'm going to talk about all the exciting information I found out today. See, I've been planning on going back to school "soon" for the last... oh, three years. At first, I was waiting because I needed to get my California residency. And then, well, I didn't have the money. And then, I tried going for just one class and managed to screw up on my admissions and registration so that I never actually was technically registered for the class so, midway through, I just left since I wouldn't be getting any credit for it anyway. Then the second time, I tried to take the same class but just couldn't summon up much enthusiasm because I'd already done quite a lot of the things we were going over. Not to mention that I was stressed out because of work. Not that, on some level, at least, those aren't all valid reasons not to go back to school... it's just that they weren't the real reasons. The real reasons are that 1) I'm terrified I'll fail like I did in Colorado, even though the circumstances are wildly different; and 2) I have changed so much in the last 4 years since I went to Colorado State for my Freshman year of college, that I'm not even sure where to begin. There are so many choices to make, so many possibilities I'd never considered...

    But anyway, I looked online and found the appropriate phone numbers. I found out that I need to talk to someone in the enrollment office, and that it's on a walk-in basis. So I've scheduled myself (on MY calendar at least) to go in on the 22nd, which is a week from Thursday. It's frightening and exciting all at the same time. The options I'm looking at are:

    1) Child and Adolescent Development in the Education Department at San Jose State. Since teaching preschool or grade school children is something I've been looking at more and more since I've gotten so involved with the 3 year olds at my church, this is looking like a very appealing option.

    2) Molecular Biology (also at San Jose State) with an emphasis in Genetics.

    3) BA - Natural Science, Preparation for Teaching (preparation for elementary school teaching) which would roll the two together but might not qualify me to teach generally, only specifically.

    4) The possibility of combining any of the 3 above and having a double major. At this point, the most likely double major will be with Molecular Biology and Child and Adolescent Development... which, incidentally will also probably have the least amount of overlap.

    I don't mind, though. I'm so excited! I was previously pretty depressed about the fact that I missed the deadline for general admissions by about a month and a half. For whatever reason, I was sure it was the end of March, but it turned out to be February 2nd! Here, I thought I was being good by getting to it in mid-March rather than a day or two before which is my normal mode of operation. Only to find out... I was so very wrong. Anyway, the people I talked to today told me that the individual departments (colleges?) sometimes have different deadlines for admissions and that there's a possibility I might get around the earlier deadline by applying directly to, say, the department of Biological Sciences instead. Which is very exciting. Even if that won't work (and I'm prepared to accept that it may not since it's already mid-April and I've probably passed most deadlines anyway) I will be talking to a real, live person next week! They'll help me figure things out, and, it's entirely possible that they may let me register for the Spring semester, now. Which would be awesome since I can't yet do that online.

    All of that babbling is simply to say that I'm insanely excited about how near to going back to school I am after all this time! :) Mwah! That's it for now.

    How many days until finals?
    What was one good thing that happened today?
    Miscellaney:

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Tell me what you think.



    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Good Friday ~ ~ ~ Our Friendship

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Most recent:
    The REAL surprise party - Monday, Jul. 11, 2005
    Still not here - Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005
    Moved - Thursday, Jun. 30, 2005
    I survived - Thursday, Jun. 23, 2005
    Go see her. Now. - Thursday, Jun. 02, 2005
    � Tessa Logan, 2003-2005 all writing and pictures unless otherwise noted--in other words, don't steal! Having said that, if you know who took the marvelous picture at the top of this page, please tell me!