Navigation
This Site
  • current
  • archives
  • first
  • cast
  • about
  • notify
  • categories
  • design
  • host


  • Other Sites
  • p-o-y
  • links
  • D-land! Yay!
  • The Hunger Site
  • Funnies
  • Registered!


  • Contact
  • E-mail Me
  • Leave me a note
  • My profile


  • Lasagna and Mom

    Monday, May. 03, 2004 ~ 1:12 p.m.


    previous ~ ~ ~ next

    I made lasagna all by myself for the first time on Saturday. Yes, yes, I did make it after I broke my toe and it was, in fact, the most intelligent thing I could have done.

    Anyway... It's amazing how much of my mom creeps into my cooking when I'm thinking about her... It didn't even occur to me to do anything other than make a big batch of spaghetti sauce (not entirely homemade, but much, much different than the way the jar of sauce started out!) before I started on the lasagna. Silly, I know. And yet... it made me feel closer to her, somehow. I wanted to call her and tell her all about it. The lasagna came out really well, actually. And I made it from the recipe in my head from watching Mom make hers. Oh, there were differences (for instance, lots and lots and lots of extra mushrooms), but... it was her recipe. I wanted to tell her that it was something Anthony really enjoyed. I wanted to tell her how amazed I was that, after all this time, with never having made it entirely by myself when I was still living there, that I made it and it came out beautifully. It's strange, sometimes, the things that catch me, stop me in mid-stride. Sometimes, it's the big things, like wanting her to be there for the wedding... but it seems like most of the time, it's these little things, the almost-silly stuff about being a newly-wed that I want so much to share with her... and can't. Partly because I'm too afraid to keep calling after so many rebuffs. Partly because she won't let me in. I miss her, an awful lot.

    How many days until finals?
    What was one good thing that happened today?
    Miscellaney:

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Tell me what you think.



    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Pity Party ~ ~ ~ Grateful

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Most recent:
    The REAL surprise party - Monday, Jul. 11, 2005
    Still not here - Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005
    Moved - Thursday, Jun. 30, 2005
    I survived - Thursday, Jun. 23, 2005
    Go see her. Now. - Thursday, Jun. 02, 2005
    � Tessa Logan, 2003-2005 all writing and pictures unless otherwise noted--in other words, don't steal! Having said that, if you know who took the marvelous picture at the top of this page, please tell me!