Navigation
This Site
  • current
  • archives
  • first
  • cast
  • about
  • notify
  • categories
  • design
  • host


  • Other Sites
  • p-o-y
  • links
  • D-land! Yay!
  • The Hunger Site
  • Funnies
  • Registered!


  • Contact
  • E-mail Me
  • Leave me a note
  • My profile


  • Grateful

    Monday, May. 03, 2004 ~ 1:48 p.m.


    previous ~ ~ ~ next

    So, I've already grumbled about how I broke my toe. Sunday, the grandmother of one of my kids (a woman I'd never seen before) brought the little girl in. I noticed that Danielle (the girl) was kind of hanging back, which is something she does frequently; she's very shy. So to try to get her to come in, I asked if she could come be my big helper because I had a bad owie and needed helpers. She shook her head no, and I kind of shrugged. I hadn't thought it would work, but it was worth a shot. Then the grandmother finished signing her in and came into the room with Danielle. She'd had her right leg amputated just above the knee. Open mouth, insert foot. While we're at it, let's see if we can shove the other one in, too!

    She came all the way into the room, and one of the children asked her what had happened to her leg. She was so gracious about it, so matter-of-fact. "Well, sweetie, I had a very bad owie on my leg, and it was making me very sick. So we took it off and now I'm all better." The little girl who had asked said, "Ok," nodded as if she were completely satisfied by that, and turned back to play with the dolls. The awesome thing was that there was a complete sincerity in her voice and on her face as she said this. She 100% meant it when she said she was all better now. She was grateful to be alive and didn't mind that the cost had been one of her legs. Lord, help me find the grace to accept the trials--the picayune trials--You've given me with just a portion of this woman's faith. Thank You for the blessing of having met her, however briefly. Help me to hold this close to my heart, to realize how great Your blessings are, even if it seems, sometimes, as if they aren't.

    How many days until finals?
    What was one good thing that happened today?
    Miscellaney:

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Tell me what you think.



    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Lasagna and Mom ~ ~ ~ The Apple (Otherwise entitled: I'm a Big Kid Now!)

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Most recent:
    The REAL surprise party - Monday, Jul. 11, 2005
    Still not here - Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005
    Moved - Thursday, Jun. 30, 2005
    I survived - Thursday, Jun. 23, 2005
    Go see her. Now. - Thursday, Jun. 02, 2005
    � Tessa Logan, 2003-2005 all writing and pictures unless otherwise noted--in other words, don't steal! Having said that, if you know who took the marvelous picture at the top of this page, please tell me!