Navigation
This Site
  • current
  • archives
  • first
  • cast
  • about
  • notify
  • categories
  • design
  • host


  • Other Sites
  • p-o-y
  • links
  • D-land! Yay!
  • The Hunger Site
  • Funnies
  • Registered!


  • Contact
  • E-mail Me
  • Leave me a note
  • My profile


  • Love is... Erm, wait, I know the answer.

    Thursday, Jul. 22, 2004 ~ 10:50 a.m.


    previous ~ ~ ~ next

    I read this today, and it made me think.
    Sometimes I hate books...because in every book, love conquers all, at least when it comes to fiction. You always know the precise moment that a hero or heroine meets their "soulmate." You know long before the novel's end that everything that's out of place in the protagonists life, will magically fall into place once they realize that this other character is their destiny. Real life doesn't work that way.

    I like to write. A lot, actually. And I frequently (used to) write stories. Oddly enough, even though I often started my stories out in unhappy situations (because, really, what writer, with the possible exception of Stephen King doesn't build their stories from their own experiences???), I always planned to have them finish with... well, with everything neatly tied up. Real life isn't like that, but it's so... satisfying to write a story that way. One of the things I always tried to work on was having my stories be realistic (well, as realistic as possible, given that I have the tendency to write fantasy or sci-fi...) and... that "love conquers all" bit is something of which I was inordinately fond. Probably because some silly, na�ve part of me still believed that and thought the only thing really wrong with the world is that we weren't loving enough. *thinks* Actually, maybe that's not such a na�ve thing to think, after all.
    Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.

    If we could love each other like that, well, maybe we really would be able to solve the world's problems... I mean, I'd say 90% (if not more?) of human suffering happens because of horrible choices other humans make because they're more concerned about their own needs than the good of others... except of course, that the world doesn't work like that. There are users and abusers who would love for the rest of the world to be so self-sacrificing...

    Hmmm. That's funny. This isn't quite where I thought I was going with this. I thought I was going to head in the direction of taking the real life bit into account when I start NaNoWriMo. Which is true, incidentally; so many, many thanks to the book bag! I have to admit, though, that after (almost) one year of marriage, my perspective on what love is exactly is so vastly different from my concept of it before... the two barely have a nodding acquaintance with each other.

    How many days until finals?
    What was one good thing that happened today?
    Miscellaney:

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Tell me what you think.



    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Too much info of a feminine nature... ~ ~ ~ Bras and Nylons

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Most recent:
    The REAL surprise party - Monday, Jul. 11, 2005
    Still not here - Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005
    Moved - Thursday, Jun. 30, 2005
    I survived - Thursday, Jun. 23, 2005
    Go see her. Now. - Thursday, Jun. 02, 2005
    � Tessa Logan, 2003-2005 all writing and pictures unless otherwise noted--in other words, don't steal! Having said that, if you know who took the marvelous picture at the top of this page, please tell me!