Navigation
This Site
  • current
  • archives
  • first
  • cast
  • about
  • notify
  • categories
  • design
  • host


  • Other Sites
  • p-o-y
  • links
  • D-land! Yay!
  • The Hunger Site
  • Funnies
  • Registered!


  • Contact
  • E-mail Me
  • Leave me a note
  • My profile


  • Evidently, My Migraine Medication Makes Me Loopy

    Saturday, Sept. 18, 2004 ~ 11:29 p.m.


    previous ~ ~ ~ next

    Well, it's been a fun couple of days, let me tell you. I'd planned to post several times over in the last week or so, but, as previously mentioned, real life hasn't been cooperating. A short list of the mundane (which, again, will probably be discussed ad nauseum here) is:
  • I mentioned that Psycho Ex-Boss #2 was "laid off" a bit ago. While I rejoiced (regrettably, not the most Christian response, I know this and took it to God) because it was a relief not to have her being, well, psycho on me, I also fretted about what that would mean for my job responsibilities. In other words, I just inherited her workload.
  • In that same post, in the blurb at the bottom, I mentioned the Best Boss Ever. Evidently, I jinxed him. Because two days after Psycho Ex-Boss #2 got "laid off" they laid off him, too. His last day was on Friday (yesterday) and at the time this was all announced, I hadn't even met the man I would then be reporting to.
  • I almost gave my 2 weeks notice and started at the local community college over the whole incident because, quite frankly, the whole situation was handled in a really, really crappy manner. I decided not to for financial reasons as well as courtesy.
  • I subsequently had several false starts but finally met my boss to be and got several things ironed out, as well as reassurance that this wouldn't be Psycho-Boss #3.
  • Anthony had a huge blow up with his work and was cordially invited to look for a place on a different project. This was utterly and completely unfair; while it won't reflect badly on Anthony's record (because a. everyone knows these two people he was reporting to are weirdos who can't keep anyone working for them anyway and b. the whole point of being in a program where he can rotate is so that he gets to try various projects out), it's not exactly on the note he wanted to leave the project.
  • Anthony has at least 4 options for other projects and/or programs to rotate into. One of these options would be a part time job, which would last through about December. This would be good for Anthony because he'd be able to focus more on his school, which hasn't necessarily been an option. It would be immensely weird for the two of us because it would make me the primary bread-winner.
  • I got a migraine headache starting on Tuesday that didn't get cured until yesterday morning via a doctor's visit and medications. The meds made me sleep for a full 20 hours... and I still took a nap this morning! After the nap, I felt absolutely fine, so I decided to go grocery shopping. About mid-way through, I realized that I'd only looked at my list twice and that my cart was quite full. Since I'd only planned to go to get 2 or 3 days worth of groceries plus some odds and ends, I was a little startled by this. I tried to focus, but just couldn't. As far as I can tell, my sole criteria was, "Oooh! Anthony likes that/those! We should get some!" This netted me: 4 boxes (20 bags each) of Earl Gray tea; 3 large cookie containers full of Nutter Butters; lots and lots and lots of Flaming Hot Cheetohs; 3 gigantic bell peppers; 6 boxes of granola bars; 5 packs (of 12 cans) of Diet Coke; 5 frozen pizzas; and, for no apparent reason, lemon-flavored pound cake. I started freaking out on the way home, thinking, I was supposed to get chips, and I didn't even get chips. I brought a couple bags upstairs to the apartment with me and started crying on Anthony as soon as I got in the door. I said the medication was worse than the migraine, and that he'd better go see what I bought because I wasn't making very good decisions. He got a terribly alarmed look on his face, but started making (kind) jokes after he finished bringing everything back up, and decided that, on the whole, he ought to send me to the store like that more often. The down side is that I spent $273 and we'll probably only be able to make one normal meal out of it. Well, you know, outside of the 5 nights' worth of pizza we've got.


  • How many days until finals?
    What was one good thing that happened today?
    Miscellaney:

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Tell me what you think.

    cat :: cat's Site
    �::cat's Comment(s)�::
    Oh Tessa! I'm so sorry about what the migraine medication did to you. :-( I hope things calm down for you soon. *Hugs*
    [2004-09-19 02:56:59]

    Tessa :: Tessa's Site
    �::Tessa's Comment(s)�::
    Cat, I love you! :) You're so sweet! Things will calm down and/or get better soon. They always do. And then I have lots of amusing anecdotes to write about. Mwah!
    [2004-09-19 03:00:24]

    Ilsa :: Ilsa's Site
    �::Ilsa's Comment(s)�::
    I think it's important to mention that Tessa dosn't eat bell peppers. Can't stand them. Not near her food even.
    [2004-09-20 19:55:20]

    Tessa :: Tessa's Site
    �::Tessa's Comment(s)�::
    This is true. :) I pick them out if they're in my food, but can sometimes still taste them and won't eat them. :) See how selfless I am? Getting loads of bell peppers for Anthony?? :)
    [2004-09-23 19:14:31]

    solemne :: solemne's Site
    �::solemne's Comment(s)�::
    I know that you felt so upset to be buying all those unnecessary groceries, but just reading this story gave me a much needed chuckle. :)
    [2004-09-24 11:24:14]



    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Sharing the love ~ ~ ~ And in other news...

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Most recent:
    The REAL surprise party - Monday, Jul. 11, 2005
    Still not here - Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005
    Moved - Thursday, Jun. 30, 2005
    I survived - Thursday, Jun. 23, 2005
    Go see her. Now. - Thursday, Jun. 02, 2005
    � Tessa Logan, 2003-2005 all writing and pictures unless otherwise noted--in other words, don't steal! Having said that, if you know who took the marvelous picture at the top of this page, please tell me!