Navigation
This Site
  • current
  • archives
  • first
  • cast
  • about
  • notify
  • categories
  • design
  • host


  • Other Sites
  • p-o-y
  • links
  • D-land! Yay!
  • The Hunger Site
  • Funnies
  • Registered!


  • Contact
  • E-mail Me
  • Leave me a note
  • My profile


  • Nice call

    Saturday, Aug. 14, 2004 ~ 3:14 p.m.


    previous ~ ~ ~ next

    I've found an excellent method to help divert people who are getting extremely aggravated when calling to complain. (Did I mention I'm in customer service at a hospital? Yeah.) I am, obviously, taking notes while the person speaks. The recent tool I've found to be extremely helpful is breaking in, apologizing for interrupting, and saying that I need to catch up on my notes and ask if the person would be willing to wait just a moment while I do that so I don't miss any information. This generally accomplishes a couple things. One, it lets the person know that I am paying attention and that I do care about what's being said. Two, it gives them a couple seconds to cool down while they know they're being taken seriously. And three, of course, it actually lets me catch up on my notes because people talk ridiculously quickly when they're upset. I don't know, it made my afternoon today when that worked while I was talking to someone. She was getting more and more worked up as she was focusing on what went wrong and how no one was helping her during her visit, and, of course, speaking faster and faster. When I apologetically sidled into her diatribe, she was very kind about it and told me to ahead and take the time I needed to get my notes. When I told her I was caught up, she was so much calmer and able to easily express her concerns. I felt like patting myself on the back after the phone call was over because she went away happy, and I didn't get yelled at or snapped at. I know it seems a bit strange, but I really LIKE working in customer relations. See, I have a concrete problem and, more often than not, a requested resolution. That makes it very easy for me to explain to the other person what that means, how long before they get a response, and why the requested resolution would (or wouldn't) work. I get to help people and it's all on a relatively small scale. I can sometimes get the complaint and resolve it in the same day. It's very, very satisfying. (Plus, my hospital is cool in that, if someone gets verbally abusive, I don't have to take it. I calmly say, "Sir [or Ma'am], if you're not going to be civil, I'm not going to be able to help you." If profanity or inappropriate behavior continues, at that point, I say, "I'm sorry, but we can't continue this conversation while you are [behaving like a child!] acting this way. I'm going to hang up now." And I do. And I don't get in trouble for it. I've only had to hang up about 3 times in the 4 years I've been here, which, really is not a bad track record.)

    How many days until finals?
    What was one good thing that happened today?
    Miscellaney:

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Tell me what you think.



    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Blessings in strange places ~ ~ ~ Cheer Tessa Up Campaign

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Most recent:
    The REAL surprise party - Monday, Jul. 11, 2005
    Still not here - Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005
    Moved - Thursday, Jun. 30, 2005
    I survived - Thursday, Jun. 23, 2005
    Go see her. Now. - Thursday, Jun. 02, 2005
    � Tessa Logan, 2003-2005 all writing and pictures unless otherwise noted--in other words, don't steal! Having said that, if you know who took the marvelous picture at the top of this page, please tell me!