Navigation
This Site
  • current
  • archives
  • first
  • cast
  • about
  • notify
  • categories
  • design
  • host


  • Other Sites
  • p-o-y
  • links
  • D-land! Yay!
  • The Hunger Site
  • Funnies
  • Registered!


  • Contact
  • E-mail Me
  • Leave me a note
  • My profile


  • What do we want? No complications! No complications!

    Monday, May. 09, 2005 ~ 11:10 a.m.


    previous ~ ~ ~ next

    Aaaahhhhh! I'm experiencing bad mommy syndrome. (Ironically enough, the day after Mother's Day and utterly unrelated to yesterday's post.) Remember the surgery for poor Gwynnie? Well, that was back in the beginning of February, and it's now the beginning of March. They told me it could take 6 to 8 weeks for her to fully recover (including the full month we kept her "confined"--I put confined in quotation marks because you have never seen a cat do more damage to herself than our little Gwynnie penned up alone! So she didn't stay penned up for more than 2 weeks... and pretty much not even that), but this is 12 weeks and she still limps sometimes and doesn't put her full weight on the leg, and it's significantly weaker than the other. We noticed this but I thought she was just taking a little longer to heal. I should've called the vet right away. He's awesome. If I was being a worrywart, he'd tell me. And if I'd called earlier, whatever's wrong (and I don't know what that is yet. I'll be taking her in tomorrow) might not be as wrong as it is now. There's a chance that all she needs is physical therapy... and aren't we all thrilled by that prospect because I would be the one doing that. Actually, that's not true. We are thrilled by that prospect because that means it's more of a psychological thing and it's something we can fix relatively easily. She may just not put much weight on that leg (and so not use it much which would lead to it being so much weaker) because, when she first put weight on it after the surgery, it hurt like crazy. Especially for Miss-I'm-Going-to-Tear-Off-the-Pain-Patch Gwynnie. If that's the case, though, we just need to teach her that it doesn't hurt anymore to put weight on it and use the leg. It will take patience and time, but nothing drastic. The other possibility is that there was a complication from the surgery. "Complication" seems like such an innocuous word to inspire so much dread. The potential "complication" could potentially result in additional surgery and/or manipulation of the hip. Poor baby... :(

    So, all in all, we're hoping for physical therapy here at Casa Logan. Please keep us in mind if you have any prayers to spare. Or maybe think some good thoughts for us.

    How many days until finals? uh... a lot. 50ish.
    What was one good thing that happened today? The vet called back. At least I know what's going on now.
    Miscellaney: First bio lab exam tomorrow. Guess what I ought to be doing?

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Tell me what you think.



    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    My heart hurts ~ ~ ~ Good news, bad news

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Most recent:
    The REAL surprise party - Monday, Jul. 11, 2005
    Still not here - Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005
    Moved - Thursday, Jun. 30, 2005
    I survived - Thursday, Jun. 23, 2005
    Go see her. Now. - Thursday, Jun. 02, 2005
    � Tessa Logan, 2003-2005 all writing and pictures unless otherwise noted--in other words, don't steal! Having said that, if you know who took the marvelous picture at the top of this page, please tell me!