Navigation
This Site
  • current
  • archives
  • first
  • cast
  • about
  • notify
  • categories
  • design
  • host


  • Other Sites
  • p-o-y
  • links
  • D-land! Yay!
  • The Hunger Site
  • Funnies
  • Registered!


  • Contact
  • E-mail Me
  • Leave me a note
  • My profile


  • Differences

    Tuesday, Jul. 20, 2004 ~ 12:14 p.m.


    previous ~ ~ ~ next

    Random factoid that I find vastly entertaining:

    Biologists are trying to find a new way to define species. Previously, the definition was, roughly, animals which are similar in form and are able to reproduce viable (fertile) offspring. However, in Colorado, where wolves are being re-introduced, they have not only been interbreeding with coyotes but producing viable (fertile) offspring. This led them to search for another definition of "species". In our advanced genetic age, some biologists decided to use genes as the testing ground. The criteria was that species had to be genetically similar within (approximately) 1%. Which means as humans, men and women would be classified as entirely different species. I guess that's something we all knew anyway! :)

    (I can't find news articles linking to it although I remember having read them not terribly long ago. If anyone knows one, leave me a link!)

    How many days until finals?
    What was one good thing that happened today?
    Miscellaney:

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Tell me what you think.

    beagle47 :: beagle47's Site
    �::beagle47's Comment(s)�::
    thank you for the nice note. i wasn't particularly fond of those photos, but now i've re-thought that since they pleased you. thanks, and hope all is well, or as well as should be expected. all my best. -=b47=-
    [2004-07-20 22:08:03]

    Picanuttalli :: Picanuttalli's Site
    �::Picanuttalli's Comment(s)�::
    I found you a present:
    [2004-07-21 23:32:50]

    Tessa :: Tessa's Site
    �::Tessa's Comment(s)�::
    Well, beagle, I'm so glad I could get you to rethink your position on the amazing pictures you took, because they really did make a difference to me. :)

    Ilsa, you give me the BEST presents! :)
    [2004-07-28 09:24:24]



    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Price of Friendship ~ ~ ~ Kitty Alert

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Most recent:
    The REAL surprise party - Monday, Jul. 11, 2005
    Still not here - Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005
    Moved - Thursday, Jun. 30, 2005
    I survived - Thursday, Jun. 23, 2005
    Go see her. Now. - Thursday, Jun. 02, 2005
    � Tessa Logan, 2003-2005 all writing and pictures unless otherwise noted--in other words, don't steal! Having said that, if you know who took the marvelous picture at the top of this page, please tell me!