Navigation
This Site
  • current
  • archives
  • first
  • cast
  • about
  • notify
  • categories
  • design
  • host


  • Other Sites
  • p-o-y
  • links
  • D-land! Yay!
  • The Hunger Site
  • Funnies
  • Registered!


  • Contact
  • E-mail Me
  • Leave me a note
  • My profile


  • Girls' Night, Gardening, and a Disclaimer

    Wednesday, Sept. 08, 2004 ~ 11:28 a.m.


    previous ~ ~ ~ next

    Girls� night went splendidly. I realize I�m updating about three weeks too late. I guess that should tell you how great a girls� night it was, right? Seriously though, Ilsa makes the most FANTASTIC strawberry daiquiris! Yumm. We had lots of fun. We watched G.I. Jane, which I'd never seen before. (Oooh. In looking for a good link to a plot summary, I found the full G.I. Jane script. Coolness!) We talked about boys. We ate lots of snacky stuff. We just did normal girls' night in stuff. :) Because we never really went anywhere, just to Ilsa's house. I knew there was something else that should've gone in the addendums page... This definitely didn't deserve a post all it's own.

    P.S. You know, I didn't deliberately do a drugs and alcohol theme, here; it just ended up that way...

    In other news, almost feel like I�m gardening. Each time I go to sit down and do the actual work, a hundred other things I didn�t want to focus on pop up. So my weeds, ironically enough, are actually ideas for new entries, and the actual work is trying to finish any one of the way-too-many entries I�ve got started. I�m halfway tempted to just post the little blurbs I�ve got in here as just a series of non sequiturs. Or something. But that�s not nearly as much fun.

    Oh, and you know how I said way-too-many posts started? I really wasn't kidding. For instance, you know you're thinking too much about blogging when can compose an entry in your head about making baked potatoes. Which I did last night. It went something like this:

    Mom used to make baked potatoes--very rarely--in a microwave. (In our little rural community, if it wasn't made from scratch and it wasn't made properly, it shouldn't be eaten. And, quite obviously, making potatoes in a microwave is not the proper way of cooking them.) She always told me the same story every time, about her dad selling microwaves when they were first coming out, first becoming popular. So she had to learn to make "gourmet dinners" via microwave. "I could make anything," she'd always tell me, "and make it come out tasting just the same as if it'd been cooked on a stove." The trick is, microwaves tend to impact water more than anything else, so you have to be careful not to dry out your food. Or to have it explode because the steam's trying to get out. So you have to make sure to poke holes on all 4 sides. (Well, actually, she always just said to make sure to poke holes with a fork all the way around, but I like symmetry and so on each side I'd poke 3 sets of holes. Oh, shut up. I am not obsessive -compulsive. Ok, so I do have this thing about not having sticky hands. But that's not the point!) Ok... you know what? That was much funnier when I put it together in my head last night.

    Author's Note: I'll probably be writing a lot of entries in the near future that are slightly less than cheerful. I put this one first because it's perky and upbeat. Most of the ones following this won't be at all. I've had a lot of things come up lately about past issues I haven't finished dealing with, and this is the best place I know to get things sorted out Hence my blurb. I'm putting this disclaimer here so I can reference it in the next (potentially) thirty-odd posts I do so that no one can claim they haven't been warned. That said, comments and feedback on what I'm writing is not only appreciated but encouraged. It seems like, when I'm writing about the things that are most important to me, no one comments, probably because they're worried I'll take offense if they comment on something so personal. (Either that, or y'all think it's not worth the time...) So I figured I'd say this now in hopes of getting more feedback. There are lots of people out there who have been through worse and more than I. Any thoughts on means of resolution or even just sharing your own stories are more than welcome!

    How many days until finals?
    What was one good thing that happened today?
    Miscellaney:

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Tell me what you think.

    solemne :: solemne's Site
    �::solemne's Comment(s)�::
    This is your site. Write what you feel needs to be written. We are mere observers of your words. Funny, how those above words make me feel like a wierdo stalker. Not good. But regardless, if we didn't want to read, we wouldn't. :)
    [2004-09-09 11:43:27]

    Tessa :: Tessa's Site
    �::Tessa's Comment(s)�::
    Solemne, as always you are too kind. :) And truthful. :) It's not like I'm going around forcing anyone to read this, afterall. :) Thank you for that reminder.
    [2004-09-19 03:43:17]



    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Aspirin ~ ~ ~ Reconstruction

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


    Most recent:
    The REAL surprise party - Monday, Jul. 11, 2005
    Still not here - Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005
    Moved - Thursday, Jun. 30, 2005
    I survived - Thursday, Jun. 23, 2005
    Go see her. Now. - Thursday, Jun. 02, 2005
    � Tessa Logan, 2003-2005 all writing and pictures unless otherwise noted--in other words, don't steal! Having said that, if you know who took the marvelous picture at the top of this page, please tell me!